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SPECIAL MINOR’S 

RESTRICTED LICENSE

Licensing for Drivers Under Age 18 
Iowa has a graduated driver’s license (GDL) system for drivers 

under 18. The GDL includes three steps to help you gain 
experience and improve driving skills. These steps include:

How Do I Get My Special Minor’s 
Restricted License?

	� Be at least 14 1/2 years old. 
	� Complete an Iowa-approved driver education course.
	� Have a valid instruction permit for at least six months.
	� Have a clean driving record for at least six consecutive 

months immediately before applying.
	� Be enrolled at a public school, an accredited private 

school, or be a student that is homeschooled.
	� Have the appropriate school authority AND your parent or 

guardian sign an Affidavit for Special Minor’s Restricted 
License (form 430021)*.

	� Have your parent or guardian complete a Parental Consent 
for Special Minor’s Restricted License (form 430022)*. You 
must carry this completed form with you in the vehicle. 
Present it to law enforcement when requested.

	� You may be required to take a drive test at the DMV.
*These forms are available at any DMV location or can be found online by 
searching the form number at iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/

What Can I Do With This License?
You can drive without adult supervision, using the most 
direct route, one hour before and after the following:
•	 School-sponsored activities at your school(s) of enrollment.
•	 Extracurricular activities held at a location within 25 miles 

of your home.
•	 Your job or to complete farm-related work if you live or 

work on a farm in Iowa. The driving distance between your 
start and end point must be 25 miles or less.

You may also:
•	 Stop for fuel at the closest gas station on your route.
•	 Drive at any time with adult supervision. The adult must 

have a valid driver’s license and be one of the following:
•	 Parent, guardian, or custodian.
•	 Immediate family member at least 21 years old.
•	 Driver education instructor.
•	 Someone at least 25 years old with written permission 

from  your parent or guardian.
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 A Special Minor’s Restricted License allows you to drive 
independently to school or work with some restrictions. 

Teen crashes often result from inexperience. Keep 
practicing with an adult and be aware of the consequences 

of any violations

http://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com


What Can’t I Do With This License?
•	 Use any electronic communication or entertainment 

device while driving. This doesn’t apply to equipment 
permanently installed in your vehicle. 

•	 Carry more passengers than the number of seat belts in 
your vehicle, even when driving with adult supervision. 

•	 Drive without adult supervision:
•	 To your job or to complete farm-related work at a 

location more than 25 miles from your starting point.
•	 To an extracurricular activity held at a location more 

than 25 miles from your home.
•	 With more than one minor passenger who is not a 

relative. A relative means a brother, sister, step-brother, 
step-sister, or another minor living in your home.

•	 Drop off a sibling at a location other than the school you’re 
enrolled in.

•	 Drive to a school or school activity as a spectator at a 
school where you are not enrolled.

•	 Drive a commercial motor vehicle, a vehicle requiring a 
class D chauffeur’s license, a vehicle with more than two 
axles, a vehicle towing another vehicle, or a motorcycle 
(unless you have motorcycle privileges).

How Do I Advance To The Next Step:   
An Intermediate License? 

	� Be at least 16 years old. 
	� Hold a valid instruction permit (or instruction permit and 

special minor’s restricted license) for a total of 12 months. 
	� Maintain a clean driving record for at least six consecutive 

months immediately before applying for an intermediate 
license.

	� Your parent or guardian must provide written consent by:
•	 Visiting any DMV location; OR 
•	 Completing the Parent’s/Guardian’s Written Consent 

Form (form 430018). This form is available at any DMV 
location or by searching the form number at:  
iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/.

	� Complete 20 hours of supervised driving, including any 
driving you completed in driver’s education. At least two of 
those hours must be between sunset and sunrise. 

What if I mess up?
•	 Your license will be suspended for three months if you:

•	 Cause or contribute to a crash.
•	 Violate a restriction of your license.
•	 Receive a citation for any traffic violation (excluding  

parking violations).
•	 Each violation will result in the following:

•	 The requirement to maintain a clean driving record for 
six months before upgrading to the next level will start 
over after you have reinstated your driving privileges.

•	 You will have to wait an additional three months after 
your 16th birthday to become eligible to apply for the 
next level (intermediate license).

LEARN MORE AT: IOWADOT.GOV/MVD
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